Today I attempted to milk a cow. Yeah, I know it sounds lame…I only made it about 15 minutes before I couldn’t feel my hand anymore, and not to mention my back was cramping up. Did I also mention I had an audience of 2 expert cow milkers and my husband and two kids? Yeah…but even though it hurt, it felt awesome! There is something so natural in the rythem of milk squirting into your pail. A deep and profound connection between this 800lb animal and you. That is exactly the type of connection I am striving for between me and my food. In a world that is so unbelievably disconnected I am trying to show, teach, and lead my children to feel this connection from their soul to the world around them. This America  was built not by politicians and by office people. No, this America was built on the backs and sweat of hardworking farmers, and pioneers, people who were not afraid of standing their ground and working hard for what they have. If only the American people would stand together to save our traditional values, and to save our children from the food that our government is poisioning us with.

Image

