The snow crunched beneath our feet. The kids had big smiles on their face. Levi stuck his finger in the spigget to taste the sap, like his daddy did. It tastes faintly sweet! This is the beginging to our first adventure in making our own maple syrup. This is something I have been wanting to do for a few years, and now with me not working I can finally do it. So far we have collected over 12 gallons of sap. We have four trees tapped. Even if we only get enough sap for a few mason jars I will be more than happy. The smiles on my kids faces, and the giggles and grins as I show them how to turn sap into syrup is well worth it. The feeling of taking something that mother nature has provided and knowing how to turn that into food to feed my family is absolutely priceless. 

Image

